Facebook has launched a new ‘Snooze’ option for its users that will help them to momentarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days.
The Snooze option is accessible in the top-right drop-down menu of a post. Once users choose Snooze, they’ll not see any content from those a person or Pages or group in their News Feed for 30 days. People can transpose/ revoke snooze at any time.
One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control. Over the next week, we’re launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days.
-said Shruthi Muraleedharan, Product Manager at Facebook.
It is noteworthy that, Snooze does not unfollow or unfriend permanently, instead, users will stop seeing someone’s posts for only a month.
Most importantly, Facebook will not notify people, Groups, Pages that a user prefers to snooze. People will get a warning before the Snooze period is thereby to end.
Facebook’s Snooze feature is expected to help people adequately customize their News Feed. Snooze is a sound option when it comes to taking a break from certain friends on Facebook without really unfollowing or unfriending them.
Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone. We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it.
Also, as world’s biggest social media handle, along with Snooze, Facebook also grant control like- Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, which allows its users to control their data flow better and manage content according to their convenience.